All TAs Aren’t Total A-holes

I have been a big fan of Veronica Mars for some time now. I am currently watching Season 3, thanks to Netflix.

This season, Veronica and nearly all of her friends are at university. In a somewhat odd bit of storytelling, however, every singe teaching assistant at “Hearst College” is a total a-hole. Every single one, without exception.

This is unfair. I served as a teaching assistant for many years, as did many of my friends. I can honestly say that, while perhaps 10% of TAs are pure evil, most are not. Overworked, yes; usually tired and stressed, yes; occasionally a little snippy, yes; but certainly not evil, as they are in this series.

One thing that always makes me laugh — and this particular fallacy goes back to the 1980s film “Real Genius” — is when TAs lament about having to “pick up [the professor’s] dry-cleaning.” I don’t know why scriptwriters have this belief that TAs are asked to perform such tasks. I certainly never was, and I don’t know a single TA at at least two universities who were ever asked to carry out such menial jobs.

Grade a hundred papers in 2 days? Absolutely. Digest months’ worth of lectures and translate it into something 18-year olds can understand (no easy feat, trust me)? Of course. Dry cleaning? Never.

Hopefully Hollywood gets that message. Pass it on if you can.

All this being said, however, I have known some really awful TAs. Not only were they terrible teachers, and even bad public speakers, they were just awful people in many ways.

You know who you are.

Leave a Reply

