Response to a Comment on a Palin Post

As we all know, I’ve been having some fun at Governor Sarah Palin’s expense this week, mainly because I am still stunned at what a bad choice John McCain made in selecting her as his running mate.

One of the Sarah Palin related posts on Zalandria received this thoughtful, interesting and in NO WAY hysterical comment:

Sara Says:
Tuesday, 2 September 2008 at 1:38 pm edit
If you’re going to go on & on about your idiotic, senseless, uneducated, completely closed & biased, democratic views, and you seemingly want to be taken seriously as you spend countless hours scouring the internet for items such as these…

…perhaps you should make a tiny effort to seem somewhat intelligent. Postings such as these makes you seem as though you’re desperately grasping at straws.

And people like yourself is why I’m a 28 year old woman proudly supporting and voting for McCain/Palin.

Well, Sara, here’s my response:

#1. I never opposed Sarah Palin because she is a woman. I said in an earlier post that I thought it was a step in the right direction for a candidate to choose a female running mate (and loooong overdue, to my mind.)

#2. I never pretended to be anything other than a Democrat; although I dispute the “idiotic, senseless, uneducated” charge, as I have a Ph.D. in American political history, so I do assert that I have some idea of what I’m talking about.

#3. During my podcasting days (as some readers can confirm) I was very hard on the failings of the Democrats in charge of Congress.

#3. I oppose Palin because of her extreme unreadiness to become president if necessary, as well as her bizarre social views, including (but not limited to):
• Against a women’s right to choose
• Opposes sex education in the classroom
• Opposes the use of birth control and condoms EVEN for married people
• Pro-gun

#4. Why exactly, Sara, are you voting for McCain/Palin? Is it because she is a woman? Or something else? Voting for any candidate simply based on their sex is idiotic and senseless.

#5. You are certainly entitled to your own opinion, but so am I. If you don’t like Zalandria, then don’t read it. If, however, you would like to comment further, or even email me some text to make a post on Zalandria under your byline for you, I’d be happy to hear from you.

#6. I have no need of “grasping at straws” because Obama is going to win in a landslide. McCain’s choice has made that all the more certain.

#7. If you spend time as I do reading various political websites, you would know that while Republicans are defending Palin in public, privately they are in a full-blown panic.

I look forward to more reactions!

OH, and based on the latest news, I wouldn’t click ••this link••. I warned you!

2 Responses to “Response to a Comment on a Palin Post”

  1. JonC Says:

    My theory is that “Sara” is a republican operative. How hard is it to spend $5 an hour on someone to make comments attacking all anti-Palin blogs?

    Sara, you’re a republican-bot. Enjoy your $5.

  2. Shawn Says:

    Hahaha! As always, Jon, you are the voice of reason!


Leave a Reply

