Impending Doom

I am a historian of the 20th Century.

Lately I have had the overwhelming sense of impending doom. I often feel as if the entire world is undergoing either a complete nervous break-down, or human society is in its death throws. I feel as if something big is about to happen, something transformative.

As for the United States of America: we are finished. This is my judgement as a historian. I am afraid of what will happen in the next five years or so. I feel that we are close to civil war, or revolution, or dissolution.

I hope I’m wrong – unless we can arrange a peaceful dissolution of the union, which I believe is (most likely) the best outcome.

2 Responses to “Impending Doom”

  1. goldenstarshine Says:

    with an ear to internet radio in the US
    I can see where you are coming from,
    people are feeling massively frustrated…
    esp since 9 11 and all the surveillance
    and new legislation that is coming in.
    People feel their lives are becoming more
    and more restricted and the state is intent
    upon more and more control.
    People look back to a happier, more optomistic
    America of the 40s and 50s
    Right now we seem to be in the Age of Anxiety… financial meltdown, endless violence, neverending foreign wars…
    oil spillage disasters…. there seems to be no end to it all.
    Could 2012 be the year of the doom you are predicting ?

  2. Minister of Information Says:

    The fears surrounding “2012” have been thoroughly debunked. It doesn’t mean that we aren’t heading towards some sort of major crash. If it did happen in 2012, I would see it as a coincidence. An odd one to be sure, but a coincidence nonetheless.

    UNLESS – enough people around the world believe it enough to create a self-fulfilling prophecy.

    As to the 40s and 50s, I can tell you as a historian there were no “good old days.” They don’t exist.


Leave a Reply

